Raleigh North Carolina Sports

The Durham Bulls, known as the North Carolina Bulls of the National Women's Soccer League (NWSL), are the second oldest professional football team in the United States and the third oldest in North America. The Durham Bulls are known for their strong defense and strong offense, as well as their unique style of play, the "Durham Bulls."

Raleigh Parks, Recreation and Cultural Resources provides sports teams and leagues with a focus on much more than winning, and imparts the values of fairness, sportsmanship, and teamwork. Youth sports, sponsored by Raleigh Parks and Recreation & Cultural Resources, provide boys and girls with the opportunity to learn good sports and gradually develop their skills. Youth sports sponsors in Raleigh parks, recreational facilities and cultural resources in Raleigh, N.C., provide a great opportunity for boys and girls to learn and gradually develop their athletic skills.

The Charlotte Independence play in the North Carolina Soccer League (NCSL) Division I, which is based in Charlotte, N.C., the second-highest level of North American professional football. The Charlotte Eagles, Carolina's third-highest Division II team, also play at the state level and are also the top football team in their state and territory.

Other major college teams in the state include North Carolina State University, UNC - Chapel Hill, Wake Forest, Duke, NC State and UNC Charlotte. With the addition of the Charlotte Eagles and Charlotte Independence to the NCAA Division II, North Carolina now has seven FBS teams in addition to UNC, all from the same state.

This is the first time an ACC team has been based in North Carolina since Duke defeated Arkansas in the 1961 Cotton Bowl Classic. In addition to the ACC schools, the University of North UNC Charlotte has been in the NCAA Final Four since 1977. Davidson College in Charlotte went to an NCAA Elite Eight in 1968, 1969 and 2008, and UNC led the Charlotte 49ers to win the men's national championship. That makes UNC - Chapel Hill the only FBS team from the state to win a national title in each of the last four years.

After the Cougars moved to St. Louis, it would be 14 years before professional basketball returned to Old North State, when Charlotte became the NBA's 24th franchise, the Charlotte Hornets. The Charlotte Bobcats were elected to the back-to-back city for the first time in franchise history in 2010 and 2011.

In 2012, the NWSL team moved from Rochester, New York, to Cary and moved into the NCFC home at WakeMed Soccer Park. The team has played its games at the stadium for the past two seasons after moving from its former residence at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

The Carolina Cougars of the American Basketball Association played their home games at WakeMed Soccer Park from the spring of 1974 until the end of their last season in 1974-75. The Carolina Pumas (American Basketball Association) played at the stadium during their last season, which ended in the spring of 1974, and in the first year of their existence 1975-76.

The Cougars played in North Carolina from 1969 to 1974, splitting their games between WakeMed Soccer Park and the University of South Carolina at Chapel Hill. The NFL's Carolina Panthers played their home games in the stadium in the first two seasons (1974-75 and 1975-76) and have been in FBS postseason games ever since. Charlotte is home to the Charlotte Checkers, a former ECHL team that moved to Charlotte in 2010 and became the Carolina Checkers in 2011, taking the name of a former Echelon team that played in the city in 1995. The North Carolines are also home to two professional football teams, the UNC-Charlotte Panthers (NFL), which play their home games in Charlotte, and the NC State Hornets (NCAA Division I-A).

The Carolina Hurricanes, from the NHL, won the Stanley Cup in 2006 and made it to the 2019 Eastern Conference finals. Winter or spring, North Carolina doesn't have college basketball tickets to win, but the Charlotte Hornets and NC State Hornets play at WakeMed Soccer Park in winter and spring.

The Hornets, who play in the World Football League, have called the American Legion Memorial Stadium in Charlotte their home since the mid-1970s. The Hurricanes won the Stanley Cup in 2006, becoming the first North Carolina team to win the sport's highest championship. Since the Panthers began playing in the 1988-89 season, there has been a strong push to establish a professional football team in South Carolina, the Carolina Panthers of the National Hockey League (NHL). The Panthers, however, were unable to play their home games at Charlotte Coliseum due to a lack of interest from fans in neighboring South Dakota and neighboring Georgia.

Elon University first appeared in the 1979 NCAA men's basketball championship and won back-to-back championships in 1980 and 1981. Elon University has since moved to its current location at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, winning the championship in 1980 - 1981 and 1983 - 1984. Duke won three NCAA basketball championships (1974, 1976, 1983), and NC State won two, 1974-1983, and two NCAA football championships, 1974 and 1976.

More About Raleigh

More About Raleigh